Resolving the Buganda problem

The Buganda problem will remain unresolved until five things are accepted and put in place:

1. A Buganda constitution subject to the national constitution in which the Kabaka is recognised as the titular head or constitutional monarch.

2. A government at Mengo headed by an elected Katikkiro and properly funded.

3. An elected Lukiiko.

4. Recognition of the eighteen counties as the districts of Buganda which will then unite to form a regional tier of Mengo. The present proposed tier is viewed as alien.

5. A system of lower local government based on egombolola (LC3), omuluka (LC2) and ekyalo (LC1).
Post a Comment